Photograph © Jim Woodward-Nutt
Grid reference: TG 457 223
OS sheet: 134
Postcode: NR29 4EF
Near B1159, about 2.5 miles NE of Potter Heigham, and 7 miles SE of Stalham.
A brick tower drainage mill with a boat-shaped cap, which worked by wind until 1943, when it was
severely damaged by lightning. Acquired by the National Trust in 1948, and since restored.
Currently under restoration, awaiting new sails and
fantail, and rebuilt cap.
Opening times 2017
Mill closed for restoration. It is hoped to re-open 1st
July Normally March, Saturdays & Sundays only, plus bank holidays; April to October, daily, 10.00-16.30.
Parties at other times by arrangement. See web site.
National Mills Weekend opening times
Saturday and Sunday, 10.00 to 16.30. We are
now putting the wind-pump back together; come and speak to the team that has
made it happen. The project team as well as the millwright will be on site to
talk about how the project has evolved from a simple repair job to a full
restoration of this iconic Norfolk Broads landmark. The cap is due to be
replaced shortly. The mill will still be closed but the restoration
exhibition and cafe will be open.
National Trust, Staithe Stores, tel. 01493 393904 or 01263 740241.