Photographs © Julia Curry
Walkham Mill Walkhampton, Yelverton
Grid reference: SX 532 704
OS sheet: 201
Postcode: PL20 6JR
Walkham Mill is a former wheelwright's shop circa mid 19th
C. This water powered workshop (rather than a mill in the traditional sense) Is
considered to have been a unique survival in England as it continued in use
In 2000 it was converted into a private home, but the workshop survives and
still contains six of the nine machines which were used in the manufacture of
wheels and carts. The overshot waterwheel dates from 1845, and is fed by a 17m
wooden launder from the Black brook, a tributary of the river Walkham. It was in
working order only a decade ago but is now in need of repair which is in hand.
The workshop is still an interesting survival of a bygone age, and contains much
of the ephemera of a wheelwright's art. It is still possible to see the workings
of the wheel and launder.
Opening times 2017
By appointment only
National Mills Weekend opening times 2017
only 11.00 - 16.00. Park in the centre of the village, by the war memorial, in
the pub car park or in the village hall car park. The mill is opposite the pub
car park and behind the Old Mill House.
Julia Curry tel. 01822 853697